M800 engine brake selector switch

Discussion and support for MoTeC's previous generation ECUs.

M800 engine brake selector switch

Postby Shuma- gorath on Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:33 pm

Hi, is the m800 capable of multiple engine braking maps that can be selected using a switch? Pretty much the same way you can select different levels of traction control? Thanks for the help.
Shuma- gorath
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:01 am

Re: M800 engine brake selector switch

Postby David Ferguson on Wed Sep 22, 2021 7:37 am

What would be unique in your "braking maps"? Ignition timing in overrun conditions? How much the throttle is closed on DBW setups? Something else?
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: M800 engine brake selector switch

Postby Shuma- gorath on Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:38 am

I would use it to adjust the butterflies in the throttle bodies to subtract engine brake. Mainly to be used for when the tire starts to go off.
This is for a motorcycle application.
Shuma- gorath
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:01 am

Re: M800 engine brake selector switch

Postby David Ferguson on Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:49 am

I believe what you want to achieve is doable, by selecting the switch setting as one of the axis on a table. We need a little more detail on the hardware you have to control the throttle position. Are you using Drive-By-Wire and servo motor throttle bodies, or do you have some other actuator that controls the throttle stop? Tell us how that is wired / controlled. So we an identify the correct table to configure.
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: M800 engine brake selector switch

Postby Shuma- gorath on Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:04 am

Awesome, thanks.
I am using a fbw, servo motor throttle bodies.
Shuma- gorath
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:01 am

Re: M800 engine brake selector switch

Postby David Ferguson on Wed Sep 22, 2021 11:14 am

I have attached a DBW configuration showing what I think you need to do.

- First configure one of the User Channels (I used User 1) for your brake switch. I configured it for a 6-position pot. See Adjust->Sensor Setup->Input Setup...->User tab. Note the calibration table that converts the pot voltage into a value of 0-5.

- Now configure the Functions->Drive By Wire->Comp table to use User 1 as one axis, and Throttle Pos Driver as the other axis. I set the values on the axis to match the user 1 output values, and the areas where the driver has essentially closed the throttle. So now depending on the switch setting, and the throttle position there will be additional throttle requested when the throttle is closed.

Concerns: this might affect the idle control, but you will have to test and see.

Hope this helps
Attachments
Sample DBW2.e35
DBW setup showing minimum throttle changing with e braking pot.
(72 KiB) Downloaded 187 times
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: M800 engine brake selector switch

Postby Shuma- gorath on Wed Sep 22, 2021 11:25 am

That's great thanks, I'll give it a try and let you know how it turns out. Thanks again for the help.
Shuma- gorath
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 3:01 am


Return to M400, M600, M800 and M880 ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests