Used ADL Info

Discontinued earlier generation Dash Loggers

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby Vlad on Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:32 pm

Adrian, can this ADL be wired to a standard car obd port?
Vlad Pescaru
JPR Engineering, MoTeC Authorised Dealer
User avatar
Vlad
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:18 am
Location: Romania

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby Vlad on Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:54 pm

So? Any chance ?
Vlad Pescaru
JPR Engineering, MoTeC Authorised Dealer
User avatar
Vlad
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:18 am
Location: Romania

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby SDean on Fri Apr 05, 2019 7:35 am

Hi Vlad,

I'll get Adrian to give a more detailed response next week when he is back in the office.

As the ADL was developed before OBD was common on vehicles, it isn't directly supported in the Dash, it is possible to get a limited number of channels out of the CAN OBD stream using custom templates.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
SDean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby adrian on Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:40 pm

Unfortunately the ADL is not capable of transmitting the messaging required to get OBD to work.
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby Vlad on Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:43 am

Got it! Another thing, for example, if i would like to fit this dash on a client's car which has let's say, a haltech platinum, which runs the haltech v2 can template, for one race, could it be programed to recive over can engine sensor data from that ecu?
Vlad Pescaru
JPR Engineering, MoTeC Authorised Dealer
User avatar
Vlad
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:18 am
Location: Romania

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby adrian on Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:40 am

I don't have any Haltech templates that will work with the ADL but I can make you some.

I have attached the Haltech templates that I have, to open them you will need to use one of our current Colour Dash Managers.

Create a new default config and go to Connections>Communications. Click select and then import. Locate the Haltech templates and import them.

If you then edit the template and go to the 'received channels' tab you will see a list of ID's and the channels sent in each one.

Select which ID's you want to receive and I will make templates for you. One thing to note, the ADL is extremely old and is limited to receiving only 6 CAN messages. You will have to decide which 6 are the most important.
Attachments
Haltech v2.16 0x3E0.CC8
(8.34 KiB) Downloaded 507 times
Haltech v2.16 0x370.CC8
(8.34 KiB) Downloaded 500 times
Haltech v2.16 0x360.CC8
(8.34 KiB) Downloaded 501 times
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby Vlad on Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:05 pm

I'm thinking that these channels could be handy: RPM, Mannifold Pressure, TPS, Lambda, Coolant Temp, Air Temp.
I had a look before asking in the CDL3 Dash Manager, and was thinking of setting up in the Comms setup in my ADL Dash Manager, the parameters and channels, base adresses, offsets and everything as it is in the haltech template in the CDL3 Dash Manager, could this work? I really wouldn't like to put you in any effort on making this template, plus i'll get more familiar with the can setup and everything.
PS. On my personal car i have at the moment an M84, and will soon upgrade to an M400, is the dash capable of receiving more than 6 can messages from these ecu's?
Vlad Pescaru
JPR Engineering, MoTeC Authorised Dealer
User avatar
Vlad
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:18 am
Location: Romania

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby adrian on Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:57 pm

Yes the CAN setup is the same in the CDL3 as it is in the ADL, the only reason you can't just load the template is because the ADL uses a different file format and won't load the new files.

If you are connecting to an M84 or M400 you can just select the template in Dash Manager and you will get all of the channels being sent by the ECU.
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby Vlad on Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:45 pm

Ok, thanks allot Adrian :) I'l start experimenting
Vlad Pescaru
JPR Engineering, MoTeC Authorised Dealer
User avatar
Vlad
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:18 am
Location: Romania

Re: Used ADL Info

Postby Vlad on Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:44 pm

This still bugs me, what could be wired on pin nr. 6? as the pin and wire is in the connector, is there anything else beside the backlit inverter that can be wired on pin nr.6 ? In the software it dose not appear anywhere...
Vlad Pescaru
JPR Engineering, MoTeC Authorised Dealer
User avatar
Vlad
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:18 am
Location: Romania

PreviousNext

Return to ADL, ADL2 and SDL

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron