Analog Temp Inputs

Discontinued earlier generation Dash Loggers

Analog Temp Inputs

Postby jamesr156 on Sat Jul 17, 2021 6:02 pm

Hi,

I have run out of analog voltage inputs on my SDL. I would like to add 2 more suspension position sensors and a steering angle sensor. Is there any way of using the analog temp inputs for these?

Thanks
James
jamesr156
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 2:35 pm

Re: Analog Temp Inputs

Postby David Ferguson on Sat Jul 17, 2021 11:46 pm

No, but we can add expansion devices using the CAN bus. If you are in the US, please feel free to contact us at Veracity Racing Data (https://veracitydata.com), we can help solve this problem.
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: Analog Temp Inputs

Postby jamesr156 on Sun Jul 18, 2021 12:37 am

Thanks for the reply. I have a E888 box but I didn’t think the extra analog inputs worked? Only the 8 thermocouples?

Although the old harness does have some of the inputs wired on the e888 so not sure what the go is there.

Thanks
jamesr156
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 2:35 pm

Re: Analog Temp Inputs

Postby David Ferguson on Sun Jul 18, 2021 2:47 am

Well, an E888 has 8 Thermocouples and 8 AV inputs. The SDL is a bit restricted on the CAN communication setup, but I believe we may be able to receive those analog channels, since you already have it. The downsisde is that the inputs come in as voltages, and you will have to use a table to convert them to useful units.

My original thought was a non-MoTeC expansion.
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: Analog Temp Inputs

Postby jamesr156 on Sun Jul 18, 2021 2:45 pm

So I managed to pull the config off the logger, this is how everything was configured to work before.

It was definitely working correctly as I have seen some of the logger data from it. Any ideas on how I should go about the wiring of the sensors on the temp inputs?
Attachments
A2FA4512-96DC-4FFD-B31F-E700E162C4BE.jpeg
A2FA4512-96DC-4FFD-B31F-E700E162C4BE.jpeg (6.53 MiB) Viewed 1429 times
B2E7A24E-1623-410F-AACC-490B20859D3F.jpeg
B2E7A24E-1623-410F-AACC-490B20859D3F.jpeg (5.87 MiB) Viewed 1429 times
jamesr156
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 2:35 pm

Re: Analog Temp Inputs

Postby quadcam on Sun Jul 18, 2021 5:28 pm

While there would no doubt be readings from the AV-type sensors on the AT inputs I would be surprised if they were correct all across their intended ranges. AV-type sensors are nearly always designed to work with high resistance / impedance inputs, which an AT input with a pullup resistor to 5v certainly isn't. I guess what am I saying is that just because the SDL was configured that way doesn't mean it worked correctly.
quadcam
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 9:00 pm
Location: Queensland

Re: Analog Temp Inputs

Postby jamesr156 on Sun Jul 18, 2021 5:57 pm

Okay cool, thanks for that. Guess I just have to go without some sensors. Just have to work out what ones to go without!
jamesr156
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 2:35 pm


Return to ADL, ADL2 and SDL

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests