Can either type of VIM be used to send data to an M800 ECU?

Advanced Central Logging System including Versatile Input Modules

Can either type of VIM be used to send data to an M800 ECU?

Postby Chris Wilson on Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:59 pm

I know that the VIM modules are advertised as for feeding inputs into an ACL or dash, but can they also feed an M800 ecu if there's no logger or dash fitted? I intend, when funds allow, to buy an ACL, but need more inputs into my M800, buying a VIM now would make sense if it would feed the ecu meanwhile. Thanks.
Chris Wilson
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:51 am

Re: Can either type of VIM be used to send data to an M800 ECU?

Postby Holmz on Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:17 pm

SKMs feed knock to the ECU - rather than wired and done inside the M800
The LTC (Lambda to CAN) or something like that feeds Lambda to the M800 over CAN.
So we know at least things can get to the M800, and I think thermocouples get to the M800 via a VINM or 888. Not sure if the M800 can use EGT?? - which is a good thread drift topic.
User avatar
Holmz
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:19 pm
Location: Australia and the USoA

Re: Can either type of VIM be used to send data to an M800 ECU?

Postby Scott@FP on Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:41 am

Don't think the VIM is compatible with ECU's only 2nd and 3rd gen dashes, somebody can confirm this.

No direct input into the Mxxx for thermocouples, amplifier circuit required, such as the Analog Devices AN594 chip.

Another option is the 816/888 expander.

888 you gain 8 TC's (direct wired K type) 8 analogs, and 8 switch/PWM outputs, 4 digitals and 2 switched inputs, you lose 4 inj outputs and if you assign tables to all 8 of the 888 outputs you lose all 8 inj trim tables in the M8xx. If you only assign the 4 tables lost on the M8xx to the 888 outputs you then have 4 888 outputs with tables, and 4 with no tables. Not exactly sure how it would work on an M400.

816 has 16 AV's, two AT's, 4 digital inputs, 2 switched inputs, and 8 outputs.

All over the CAN.
Scott@FP
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:57 pm

Re: Can either type of VIM be used to send data to an M800 ECU?

Postby MSE on Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:23 pm

VIMs are only supported currently by the ACL and ADL3.

The only other way to get more generic AV inputs into an M800 is via Motec dash, E888 or E816.
MSE
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:46 am

Re: Can either type of VIM be used to send data to an M800 ECU?

Postby Chris Wilson on Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:12 pm

OK, thanks for that, would be nice if a VIM could also be used by an ECU, not sure if that's technically feasible of course, or if marketing strategies would make it unpalatable.
Chris Wilson
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:51 am

Re: Can either type of VIM be used to send data to an M800 ECU?

Postby OmarK on Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:30 pm

The guys are right that a VIM or SVIM are not compatible with any of our ECUs so for expanding the inputs into an ECU, the E888 or E816 are your only option.
OmarK
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:39 pm


Return to ACL and VIM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests