PDM High Power Output Question

Discussion and support for MoTeC Power Distribution Modules

PDM High Power Output Question

Postby vansingelm on Sat Jun 26, 2021 8:39 pm

Hi all,

Sorry for probably a verry dumb question but i'm gonna ask it anyway..

I want to power 6 coils in total (1,2,3 for bank 1 - 4,5,6 for bank 2)
when using a 20A high power output you need combine 2 pins,
can i use one pin for powering the coils for bank 2 and the other one for bank 2?
vansingelm
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:43 am

Re: PDM High Power Output Question

Postby greenamex2 on Sun Jun 27, 2021 3:49 am

Yes, that would be fine if each coil draws around 7.5A or less.

If they are more than this, I would combine the two pins and then feed all the coils from this (this is what I am doing on my VQ30).

How long is the run of wire from the PDM to the injectors.
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England

Re: PDM High Power Output Question

Postby vansingelm on Sun Jun 27, 2021 4:41 am

Thanks for the information!

I will use Audi TT coils, any idea where i can find the specs for current draw?
The wire would be around 1.2m from PDM to the coils.
I was planning to use 18AWG wire for each pin
vansingelm
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:43 am

Re: PDM High Power Output Question

Postby greenamex2 on Sun Jun 27, 2021 5:18 am

If you can find the part number on the coil, I am sure the guys at Motec will have all the details (including dwell times etc).
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 6:06 am
Location: England


Return to PDM15 PDM16 PDM30 and PDM32

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests