frustrating problem with SLM

Discussion and support for MoTeC's Shift Light Module

frustrating problem with SLM

Postby C4a0s on Thu May 20, 2010 1:26 pm

am working with mark on this... but just wondering if anyone has any other ideas for troubleshooting..

previously, SLM was working with direct connection to my M800.. red wire to A26, Black wire to A10, White (Can HI) to B23 and Green (Can Low) to B24. I didnt add a terminating resistor at the SLM side...but it worked. (lucky?)

after my garage took out my wiring etc for my engine overhaul etc... long story short... now my SLM isnt working :p

i've done the following..
- used new wires for the SLM to ECU connections...
- twisted the green and white wires to make them self shielding
- added a 100 ohm 0.25W resistor between the green and white wires at the SLM's DTM plug side..
- SLM setup and table all untouched..
- CAN setup done...Can 2 Data -> 13, Can 2 address -> 41
- at the DTM plug, there is 12V and ground. There is continuity for the green and white wires

but its still not working!!! :cry: :cry: :cry:

anyone got any other ideas? :~(
C4a0s
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:09 am

Re: frustrating problem with SLM

Postby xpro on Fri May 21, 2010 8:49 am

on mine i have resistor on can side, close to it, it works perfect.
xpro
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: frustrating problem with SLM

Postby xpro on Fri May 21, 2010 9:01 am

on mine i have resistor on can side, close to it, it works perfect.
xpro
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: frustrating problem with SLM

Postby DarrenR on Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:46 pm

Hi C4a0s,

I would say you were very luck for the SLM to work without a terminating resistor in the first place.
However, if you have now added aterminating resistor and it is still not working there almost has to be a wiring problem somewhere.
While you have continuity in the CAN wires, you may also have a short in one of those wires.
The easiest test is if you can talk to the m800 with your laptop then the CAN bus is operational and the SLM should also work but there is a chance it may not.
You could try moving the SLM close to the ECU on new wiring. Have you followed the CAN wiring practices detailed in all motec product manual??
Darren Reynolds
MoTeC Research Centre - Melbourne, Australia.
DarrenR
MoTeC
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 1:15 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: frustrating problem with SLM

Postby bazeng on Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:03 am

Have you checked the software to ensure that the SLM isn't dependent on any illum switch inputs (backlight)
bazeng
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 4:44 pm


Return to SLM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest