SLM and SDL3 CONFIG. INSTRUCTIONS

Discussion and support for MoTeC's Shift Light Module

SLM and SDL3 CONFIG. INSTRUCTIONS

Postby supercharged88 on Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:35 am

Hi all, purchased a SLM to use with a customers SDL3.
I havent tried it as yet.
I have terminated it and have been trying get an understanding on how to configure it correctly in Dash Manager.
I have created a dash config to try when i get back to work.
I have based some of my setting off the instructions supplied in another thread regarding SLM and ADL.
My question is,
Is there any Instruction Manual download available for the correct setup procedure for the Dash Manager software for SDL3 and SLM configuration.
I have searched the forum and downloads tab,also the Webinars.
I have also used F1 HELP file in Dash Manager software.
Information seems to be very limited for this configuration.
Any tips.
Regards
Dave.
supercharged88
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:38 am
Location: Far North QLD

Re: SLM and SDL3 CONFIG. INSTRUCTIONS

Postby JamieA on Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:33 am

Dave,
If you use the latest release version of SDL3 manager, you will find that there is a tab for shift light module under the functions menu.

all settings need to be done in here.

nothing else is required.

it is very different to the ADL method.

Have a play with the settings in there, and let me know if you have more questions.

regards,

Jamie
JamieA
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:16 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: SLM and SDL3 CONFIG. INSTRUCTIONS

Postby supercharged88 on Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:00 am

Hi Jamie,
thanks for the reply.
After reading your reply, i have changed my config.
I removed the communications template i created,under Canbus.
I selected Canbus 1 in the SLM settings as i have it connected to Canbus 1.
I configured my Shift Light sequence,
using LED's
1 and 8 RED
2 and 7 ORANGE
3 and 6 YELLOW
4 and 5 FLASHING GREEN
Color sequence preferred by customer,
Under the Shift light Setup tab,
Method
Simple
Engine RPM channel
Filter 50
Hysterisis 100
UPSHIFT TAB
Light 1 - upshift light 1
Light 2 - upshift light 2
Light 3 - upshift light 3
Light 4 - upshift light 4
Upshift RPM - Upshift RPM
Settings
Light RPM
1 1500
2 2000
3 2500
4 3000
I used the above rpm values and kept them low for testing purposes.
I couldnt find any other place to setup the shift light activation RPM points other than the above, activating the upshift sequence.
Is this correct.
Sorry for the dumb questions,i just like to understand things correctly.
Regards
Dave
supercharged88
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:38 am
Location: Far North QLD

Re: SLM and SDL3 CONFIG. INSTRUCTIONS

Postby supercharged88 on Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:21 pm

I managed to get the SLM working correctly today.
My first stupid mistake was i selected CAN 1, for some reason i thought i had terminated to CAN 1 but it was actually CAN 0.
I also need to select SLM shift light for the commands for shift 1 through to 4.
I had only selected shift light.
When i looked further down the list i noticed SLM and selected the 4 from there.
Anyway, makes for a good learning curve.
Thanks to Ian from Motec QLD for steering me in the right direction with the CAN BUS address.
I am kicking myself for not picking up on that.
supercharged88
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:38 am
Location: Far North QLD

Re: SLM and SDL3 CONFIG. INSTRUCTIONS

Postby killerbee on Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:15 am

As a request could Motec please post a sdl3 config file that sets up the SLM. I am having an issue with the SLM and would lke to eliminate the SDL3 config as a problem.
killerbee
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:34 am

Re: SLM and SDL3 CONFIG. INSTRUCTIONS

Postby MarkMc on Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:13 am

Here is the config out of my car.
Attachments
Sprinter After Phillip Island.U23
(491.19 KiB) Downloaded 1127 times
MarkMc
 
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 12:28 pm


Return to SLM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest