Telemetry Channel Names File

Discussion and support for the operating software of a range of MoTeC products

Telemetry Channel Names File

Postby rdmahurin on Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:22 am

Is there a file I can copy over to, or delete from the non-setup PCs receiving telemetry that allows the changed channel names to come through?

They seem to all come over the stream in their default names like GP 20 (0 dps), or previously assigned names, instead of the channel names most recently given to them in Dash Manager.

All of the names are fine when watching telemetry on the actual setup PC.

I've even tried to edit a channel name and then search the drive for modified files in an attempt to identify where the changes are stored, but no luck there either.

Thanks.
rdmahurin
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:37 am

Re: Telemetry Channel Names File

Postby JamieA on Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:35 pm

The dash sends out a telemetry data stream which includes channel values and channel numbers only.

This means that the Telemetry monitor needs to look on the PC recieveing the data stream for the conversion from channel numner to channel name. This is done by looking up 2 files, the Master channel list and the user channel list.

The master channel list has all of the MoTeC standard channel names, and their associated channel numbers.

The user channel list has all changes that you have made to the master channel list, such as renames from "GP pressure" to "oil pressure" (as an example).

So if you dont have the telemetry coming into the same PC that you create the config with, you will get default channel names instead of the override names.

To fix this, you need to copy the user channel file from the dash configuring PC to the Telemetry PC whenever you make channel name changes. When this file is found on the Telemetry PC, your channel names will get updated.

regards,

Jamie
JamieA
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:16 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Telemetry Channel Names File

Postby rdmahurin on Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:53 am

JamieA wrote:...This means that the Telemetry monitor needs to look on the PC receiving the data stream for the conversion from channel number to channel name. This is done by looking up 2 files, the Master channel list and the user channel list....To fix this, you need to copy the user channel file from the dash configuring PC to the Telemetry PC whenever you make channel name changes. When this file is found on the Telemetry PC, your channel names will get updated.


Thanks for the reply, Jamie.

Just to confirm, the two file names are master.chl, and user.chn? These are located in "C:\Program Files\MoTeC\Channels" in my installation.
rdmahurin
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:37 am

Re: Telemetry Channel Names File

Postby JayDee on Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:17 pm

This thread might be old but just to throw my two cents in,
for updating a new PC for use with telem.
You only need to copy the user file (the master is the same with every install of telem) also if you was to copy the warnings from one telem to another, copy the two telemetry files in the 'channels' directory and put then in the same place on the new pc.
If using one telem to broadcast to several over a team network, ensure you close/reopen both the host and slave telemetry programs to ensure the new channel names are recognised.
J.
Telemetry Geek. :-)
JayDee
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:38 am


Return to Other MoTeC Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron