SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

SKM and OKM

SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby HKS_TRD on Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:18 am

I'm going to be using an M800 and SKM with my 7M-GTE motor.
The motor has three position for a knock sensor, the middle one us used by the N/A version of the motor which only ran a single knock sensor and the front and rear positions which are used by the turbo version which ran two knock sensors.
As I am restricted to using a single sensor with the SKM is there a particular position on the block I should be using and any suggestions for sensor type?
HKS_TRD
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby Scott@FP on Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:13 am

Just use a single and adjust gain and offset for each cylinder.
Scott@FP
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:57 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby HKS_TRD on Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:36 pm

Thanks for the advice.
Which position on the block should I be mounting it, front, rear or middle?
HKS_TRD
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby Scott@FP on Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:47 am

Any, the gain and offset make up for mounting position, but best bet would be a central location. If the sensor is mounted between 3 and 4 you may end up with a gain table that looks like this-#1 1.04 #2 1.01 #3 .98 #4 .98 #5 1.01 #6 1.04. It doesn't always end up symmetical and even, sometimes the correct gain can seem weird.
Scott@FP
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:57 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby HKS_TRD on Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:42 am

Thanks
That makes sense especially seeing as Toyota used the centre position for the N/A which ran a single knock sensor.
I was going to use a GM blade type sensor instead of the standard Toyota piezo type or whatever it is
HKS_TRD
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby SprinterTRD on Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:07 pm

You would be better off using the Toyota sensor as its characteristics will be matched to the engine.
SprinterTRD
Pro User
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:24 am

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby HKS_TRD on Fri Nov 10, 2017 1:33 pm

I've been told that once you bore the motor the harmonics change and it isn't as effective plus its such an old sensor the newer GM one would work better as its a different style of sensor
HKS_TRD
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby Scott@FP on Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:35 pm

Better yet is the Bosch 'wideband' unit. VW/Audi etc.
Scott@FP
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:57 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby HKS_TRD on Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:51 pm

I'll have to look into that, how does it mount to the block?
HKS_TRD
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: SKM Knock Sensor Position - Inline 6 Motor

Postby Scott@FP on Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:05 am

8mm stud mount I believe, its been awhile.
Scott@FP
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:57 pm

Next

Return to Knock Modules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest