ACL Ethernet Connection and windows vista

Information on getting your PC to talk to your MoTeC product via RS232, CAN, USB or Ethernet.

ACL Ethernet Connection and windows vista

Postby hbefa on Tue May 15, 2012 6:43 am

Hello All,

I have some problems to connect to my ACL from a laptop running on vista.
With my previsous laptop, running on XP, no problem with static ip settings. I let the ACL with it's native address (169.254.64.xx xx is the serial number). And my laptop is static ip 169.254.1.1, mask 255.255.0.0. Working fine.

With my new laptop, I try the same settings but it doesn't work. ACL manager is always searching device. Sometimes, but very few times, connection works but it's seems really difficult...

When I look further into network card properties, especially differences between my two laptops, I have Ipv6 / Ipv4 in my new laptop. Only Ipv4 in my old. I also have some tunneling network card in my new laptopt, maybe it could be had some problems with these things ??

If someone has some experience with ACL connection, or if Jamie look around this topic I will appreciate some help ;-)

Thank you.
hbefa
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:36 pm

Re: ACL Ethernet Connection and windows vista

Postby Fast_Moto on Tue May 15, 2012 8:58 am

Try running the program as an administrator. I had a similar issue and this took care of it for me.
Fast_Moto
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:49 am

Re: ACL Ethernet Connection and windows vista

Postby JamieA on Tue May 15, 2012 12:27 pm

It actually sounds like you are doing the right thing...

To (generally) guarentee an ACL connection, you should...

1) UNINSTALL all anti virus appilcations (diasable doesnt work)
2) leave the ACL with the native address (do not use the ip address override, it doesnt work except in win XP)
3) set a fixed IP address in the range of the ACL (as you have already)
4) set the subnet mask to 255.255.0.0 (as you have done)

That should be enough to make it work...

have you done all of these?

-Jamie
JamieA
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:16 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: ACL Ethernet Connection and windows vista

Postby hbefa on Wed May 16, 2012 7:39 am

Hello all,

thank you for your help Jamie but unfortunately, I already try all these settings. Nowadays, I will make some others try tomorrow.

the answers of Fast Moto is very interresting. I will try it !

Thank you guys. I will let you know if I can improve the connection between my laptop and my ACL !

fabrice.
hbefa
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:36 pm


Return to MoTeC PC Comms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest