Dash not reading

information about how to make an ECU (MoTeC or non MoTeC) work with a MoTeC dash or data logger

Re: Dash not reading

Postby SprinterTRD on Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:40 pm

Unfortunately regardless of what your tuner said its still worth checking for your own sanity!

Either the wiring is wrong or has a problem or the setup is wrong, assuming the hardware hasn't been damaged during the swap process.

If you are absolutely confident everything is correct then you need to get a oscilloscope and start measuring the waveform's from the ECU to dash.
SprinterTRD
Pro User
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:24 am

Re: Dash not reading

Postby Kdog on Fri Feb 19, 2021 5:25 am

Yes, agreed. It looks like a maybe a port issue on computer. An oscilloscope isn't going to happen today. Are there any checks I can do with a multimeter?
Kdog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 9:48 am

Re: Dash not reading

Postby SprinterTRD on Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:39 am

Not really, you need the scope to see if the RS232 messages are output from the ECU.
An alternative is to use a terminal emulator on the PC, connect the RS232 from the ECU to the PC and see if you see ASCII characters appearing in the terminal.
SprinterTRD
Pro User
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:24 am

Previous

Return to ECU to Dash Comms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests