Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Discussion on the use of Display creator software for MoTeC Colour displays

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby adrian on Fri Aug 20, 2021 4:42 pm

Which version of Dash Manager are you using? The file Nathan posted will only work in C1212 Dash Manager version 6.4.

The Dash Manager file will have an extension .c1212vxx, where the 'xx' is the version of DM you are using. By default they are saved in Documents\MoTeC\Dash\Config (the same folder that .dbc file is in).
adrian
MoTeC
 
Posts: 675
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:16 pm

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby icanfly on Sat Aug 21, 2021 2:03 am

MASSIVE!
It took a bit to figure out that the file provided by Nathan was created in a newer version of DM which is why I wasn't able to open it previously - after nuking all the software that came on the jump drives and updating everything to the latest - including a firmware update to the dash, the sample file got my rotary lit up and controlling the dash pages!!!

Thanks much for the sample file, its a big help and reinforces that I was in the right place - now to go reverse engineer it for my own project.
icanfly
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2021 3:21 am

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby icanfly on Sat Aug 21, 2021 3:47 am

I'm Realizing the sample file you provided @Nathan is a fixed internal display so trying to reverse engineer it so I can do the same thing in Display Creator isn't proving helpful as it's not 1:1 as far as I can see.

Any chance to get this same example file, but as a Display Creator file so that I can better understand how this is setup? A simple 3 page with the word test1/2/3 on each page and on page 1 the same type of button test for the rotary?

I've tried both matching the above setup with a counter with no joy as well as simply mapping a button to a number to listen for the button press and output 0/1 to validate that I have it setup correctly and am failing to even do that...I have matched the configuration in the sample, I've set the channel for the number to listen to be "Controller Button 1" in the same way the sample file had been setup but am not seeing a change in the number on the dash.

At least the lights are on for the rotary now...
icanfly
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2021 3:21 am

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby David Ferguson on Sat Aug 21, 2021 6:15 am

For Display Creator configs, just have the rotary controller update the Display Page channel, or use it's outputs as the Page Up Button and Page Down Button on Functions->Display...->Page Selection tab.

Be aware, that it's now the weekend in Australia, so don't expect any answers from the MoTeC guys until Sunday on our side of the planet.
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby icanfly on Sat Aug 21, 2021 7:50 am

Hey David, thanks for the reminder on the date offset for aus time. When I get home I’ll see what I can get with your suggestion above. Thanks for the advice and general forum knowledge sharing that I’m seeing in other posts - I’m learning heaps from you already!
icanfly
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2021 3:21 am

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby David Ferguson on Sat Aug 21, 2021 3:08 pm

Here is a C1212 Dash Configuration (with M1 configured) and Matching Display Creator Project that will control the Display Page using the rotary controller. I am not including the DBC file, since you can generate that when you save the Dash Config, and you would need to re-Select it using Display Creator->Communications->DBC File->Select (with the correct path for your computer) in Display Creator. Hopefully that's not too confusing to follow.

I don't have either a C1212 or a Rotary Controller to test, so hopefully this works. At least all the channels are generated.
Attachments
RotaryTest_02 VRD.dcproj
Display Creator Project
(2.04 MiB) Downloaded 71 times
Rotary controller basic test + DC.c1212v64
C1212 Dash Config
(1.34 MiB) Downloaded 77 times
David Ferguson
Veracity Racing Data
Check out Shift RPM - https://shiftrpm.veracitydata.com
David Ferguson
Pro User
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:45 am
Location: Paso Robles, California

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby NathanB on Sun Aug 22, 2021 10:48 am

I should have checked before I made a DC project - looks like Dave has covered everything perfectly, even a little bit nicer changing the counter name to display page.

A thing to keep in mind with the rotary controllers an keypads is that they are momentary switches, that output 0, until actuated where they will momentarily output a 1. To have any toggling function, or to track the position of the dial, you need to implement a counter, which although this can be implemented in the display creator end, is often best setup in the dash manager config.

In this config there is the following:
Counter 1 - tracks the position of the dial, which is used for navigating the pages
Counter 2 - a 4 step counter for button 3. This is used in a table to generate 4 values for the backlight brightness, which is then setup in display creator to use those values as brightness % for the dash backlight
Counter 3 - A 3 step counter for button 1. Used on page 1 for the bottom line values to act as a display next line function like you would have in an internal display.

Again like David, I don't have a C1212 on hand, but I am confident it should all function correctly. everything works simulating the project.
Attachments
Rotary controller basic test w display creator.dcproj
(1.8 MiB) Downloaded 77 times
Rotary controller basic test w display creator.c1212v64
(1.34 MiB) Downloaded 77 times
NathanB
MoTeC
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:50 pm

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby icanfly on Tue Aug 24, 2021 2:24 am

Thank you, tons to both Nathan and David for taking the time to build these files for me. They're a fantastic reference to learn from. I appreciate the support.

I've been able to get these both to work - I've also been able to edit and modify them both to start making progress on my understanding of the relationship between DM and DC and how to build out these dashes.

I'm sure there will be more questions, but for now, I'm off to the "Designing my own dashboard" Races!
icanfly
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2021 3:21 am

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby Anthony on Thu Aug 26, 2021 11:08 pm

NathanB wrote:I should have checked before I made a DC project - looks like Dave has covered everything perfectly, even a little bit nicer changing the counter name to display page.

A thing to keep in mind with the rotary controllers an keypads is that they are momentary switches, that output 0, until actuated where they will momentarily output a 1. To have any toggling function, or to track the position of the dial, you need to implement a counter, which although this can be implemented in the display creator end, is often best setup in the dash manager config.

In this config there is the following:
Counter 1 - tracks the position of the dial, which is used for navigating the pages
Counter 2 - a 4 step counter for button 3. This is used in a table to generate 4 values for the backlight brightness, which is then setup in display creator to use those values as brightness % for the dash backlight
Counter 3 - A 3 step counter for button 1. Used on page 1 for the bottom line values to act as a display next line function like you would have in an internal display.

Again like David, I don't have a C1212 on hand, but I am confident it should all function correctly. everything works simulating the project.



Hi Nathan, in reference to your comment around the counters having the capability to be set-up in DC but it best being set-up in Dash Manager, can you elaborate as to why?
Anthony
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:54 pm

Re: Using Motec Rotary to control C1212 using DC

Postby NathanB on Fri Aug 27, 2021 8:38 am

Hi Anthony,

A lot of it ultimately comes down to personal preference, but there are couple of reasons.

- If you want to preserve the counter position, its it a case of ticking a box in dash manager.
- If you want a channel to provide the enable for the counter, this is only possible in dash manager
- If you use these counters for other functions ie. user conditions etc, you don't need to setup transmit and receive templates to get them back to dash manager.
- Diagnosis of issues with counters is far easier by monitoring them with channel monitor on dash manager without having to setup transmit and receive templates.
- Once a Display Creator starts adding the complexity of multi layer menus, with channel preserves, internal alarms, pulses, brightness control and conditional start up animations you end up with a lot of items to sift through in the channels and functions tab in Display Creator, especially if you are transmitting the maximum number of channels through already.
NathanB
MoTeC
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:50 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Display Creator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest